Skip to Main Content

State Labor Board Members

Please Note:  A formal photograph of the State Labor Relations Board will be included on this page when the Board has a full compliment of members.

Richard A. Steyer Richard A. Steyer, Chair, Chevy Chase.

Mr. Steyer practiced law for over 40 years in the Washington D.C. area, including 38 years in private practice after working as an attorney with the National Labor Relations Board.  In private practice, and as a founding member of the firm Howe, Anderson & Steyer, he represented associations and businesses in the areas of labor relations and collective bargaining, among other matters.  He also served as general counsel to non-profit organizations, including 501(c)(3) charitable, educational and scientific organizations, which included work in the areas of general corporate governance and transactions, intellectual property, governmental affairs, and employment law. He is a retired member of the Maryland, District of Columbia and New York bars.

Nancy J. Courson

Nancy J. Courson Cooke,  Fulton.

Ms. Courson Cooke, Principal and Managing Partner at Dirska & Levin, LLC, a boutique law firm in Fulton Maryland, has been representing the interests of employers and insurers in Workers’ Compensation matters for over twenty years.  Ms. Courson Cooke is currently serving a three year term on the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board of the National Council on Compensation Insurance.  She also serves as Chair for the Workers’ Compensation and Unemployment Insurance committees of the Maryland Chamber of Commerce.  Ms. Courson Cooke was recently selected to serve as a member of the Section Council for the Maryland State Bar Association’s Negligence, Insurance and Workers’ Compensation Section and is a member of the Maryland Defense Counsel’s Workers’ Compensation Committee.  Ms. Courson Cooke is a member of the Baltimore Claims Association and through her firm supports the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Educational Association and Kids’ Chance of Maryland.

LeRoy A. Wilkison LeRoy A. Wilkison,  Newcomb.

Mr. Wilkison currently serves as Executive Director of Firemark, LLC, the real estate division of the Anne Arundel County Professional Fire Fighters, Local 1563. He is also a District Field Service Representative for the International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF), as well as the Fire Service Plan Trustee for the Anne Arundel County Retirement and Pension System. He has been actively involved in the labor movement since his career began with the IAFF in the early 1970s.

Olivia D. Vaughns, Highland Park

Ms. Vaughns works with Far Southeast Family Strengthening Collaborative in Washington, DC. As a Job Developer, assisting residents of Ward 8 in obtaining employment and training opportunities. Serving as a spokesperson and liaison with employers, social agencies and residents.  She has over 25 years of delivering impactful results in the career counseling, human services and corrective behavior sector and is proficient at leading change initiatives, creating and building careers, inspiring and bringing out the leadership and career aptitude potential in others.  Ms. Vaughns was appointed to the Prince George’s County Board of Election (January, 2005-May, 2019) to supervise all county, state and federal elections held in Prince George’s County. Oversaw voter registration, record keeping and the administration of election laws in Prince George’s County in accordance with Article 33 of the Annotated Code of Maryland.

Information about requirements, appointments and terms for the Board members can be found here.